Introduction to

the Harbin Institute of Technology

Founded in 1920, the Harbin Institute of Technology (HIT) has developed into an open, multi-disciplinary and research-oriented, leading national university with science and engineering as its core, encompassing management, liberal arts, economy and law as a whole. HIT currently has three Campuses, the main in Harbin, the two others in Weihai and Shenzhen.

HIT (Harbin Campus) has 22 schools, 107 undergraduate programs, 9 national key primary disciplines, 7 National Key Labs and 42 members of the prestigious Chinese Academy of Sciences and Chinese Academy of Engineering.



In 1954, HIT was designated as one of China's first six leading universities; in 1984, as one of the China's fifteen leading institutions; in 1996, as one of the first universities to be included in the Project 211 list; and then in 1999, as one of the top nine key universities to be preferentially built according to the standards of internationally-renowned universities. At present, HIT is a member of top nine University Union (C9) in China. In 2013, HIT was the first batch of universities in 2011 Scheme by Ministry of Education in China.



Today, HIT has signed academic cooperation agreements of friendship with 301 institutions of higher education in more than 43 countries, including Russia, United States, United Kingdom, France, Germany and Japan. HIT's cooperation with these universities takes the form of student and faculty exchange programs, joint academic conferences and cooperation in scientific research. In 2011, HIT first established the Association of Sino-Russia Technical Universities (ASRTU) in China.

